Glorious Grace: Prisoner of Christ

glorious-graceSooo, you know when someone wants you to remember something, or wants your attention? They keep repeating what they say, and there is sometimes a lot of shouting. Sound familiar to any parents out there? :p

Well, I think God wants my attention. This summer I attended the 9-day ladies’ Bible study class that went in conjunction with the kids’ community VBS. The theme was Colossal Coaster World: Facing Fear Trusting God. We studied Paul and the book of Acts. This year in our homeschool group, we are memorizing Ephesians 6. You know, one of Paul’s letters! And of course, our HelloMornings Bible study is Glorious Grace on Paul and the book of Ephesians!

Okay, God…what do you want to teach me?

barbieI’m excited for what’s in store for this study and for the Fall session of HelloMornings. We finished our first week and I’m proud to not have pressed snooze. Woot! A huge accomplishment for me. And what I have been blessed by most of all, but still have to be reminded to do, is getting into the Word. Even if the kids hear my eyelids open (that’s got to be some kind of superpower of theirs, right?) and they are awake right after my seagulls alarm (for real, one of the reasons I did not snooze!) goes off, it is always a blessed time getting my day started with God (and sometimes caffeine!). This week was an intro week to who Paul was and why he wrote Ephesians. If you were a prisoner of anyone, the best to be is probably a Prisoner of Christ.

For this reason I bow my knees before the Father, from whom every family in heaven and on earth is named, that according to the riches of his glory he may grant you to be strengthened with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith–that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God. – Ephesians 3:14-19

Linking up with Glorious Grace Fridays {hellomornings}.

*I asked for sunrise or sunshine/sky photos on FB for one of the email newsletters that I was writing, and my friends did not disappoint. I could only use one, so I will share the others, one at a time, each week in these Glorious Grace posts. The above photo is from a new-ish online friend, Barbie of My Freshly Brewed Life, who actually happens to be local to me. I hope to meet her soon! And apparently, we have the same wedding anniversary!

5 thoughts on “Glorious Grace: Prisoner of Christ

  1. Mommy, mommy, mommy. mommy. mommy. mommy, mom, mom, mom, mom, mom, mom….

    Oh sorry, your post reminding me of my last conversation with my three year old.

    Love you, Joyce. I SO APPRECIATE YOU and your commitment to the HelloMornings challenge! Thanks for linking up!

  2. Pingback: Our Week in Photos (Week 35 of 52) | Keeping up with the Moys

  3. Pingback: Glorious Grace: Source of All Blessing | Keeping up with the Moys

  4. Pingback: Review and Giveaway: Grace Unplugged and Own It | Keeping up with the Moys

Your turn! Share your thoughts with us.