21-Day Clutter Free Challenge {Day 4}

I’m still seeking a decluttering accountability buddy for 2015! Leave a comment or message me if you are interested! I will still be doing a group in January, but I’d love to have a personal buddy to do this with! Also, leave a comment if you are still decluttering to reach 201 items gone by January 1st! You can win Clutter Free by Kathi Lipp!

One-Week Decluttering Challenge

If you would like to enter to win a copy of Clutter Free by Kathi Lipp so you can follow along with our decluttering adventures, here’s what you need to do this week (12/26-1/1):

Get rid of 201 items from your home.

It’s that simple! Just go through your home and get rid of 201 items. You can post pics on social media and tag me, or keep a list of what you’re getting rid of, or just let me know that you got rid of 201 items. Leave a comment below on how you are doing, and when you reach item #201, you will be entered to win!

21-Day Clutter Free Challenge

SIGN UP for the 21-Day Clutter Free Challenge! We will go through the book together in January. You will receive detailed tasks as we read and declutter, and we will chat more about why there is clutter in our lives and how we can get rid of it for good!

If you already have a copy of Clutter Free by Kathi Lipp, great! If not, you can purchase a  paperback copy or a Kindle version.

My Thoughts

Two more days to declutter 39 things! I think I can, I think I can! I started in the kitchen yesterday, and posted a few items on our Swap & Sell group, and things will be leaving our house! I’m positive my neighbors think I’m running some kind of shady business with the amount of people that randomly stop by to pick up or drop off stuff. Some of it is stuff I could probably save and use for the future, but since that “future” is at an unknown time, I hope someone else will be blessed by it, so I don’t have to see things piling up.

Here’s my post from IG (photo above):

Our bedroom is still a work-in-progress and there are a few areas we haven’t even dealt with, but here is a before and after of our dresser and my side table area. #clutterfree #themoysdeclutter

Chapter 5 is titled Why We Buy. As I said in a previous post (and many times before that), I don’t like shopping. But I do buy things, and sometimes, I even buy things I don’t really need. In typical Kathi-fashion, she writes about a time when she bought things…lots of things…things that she didn’t need. It’s a funny story, but not so much when I realize that I do that at times.

The problem, of course, is that buying things we don’t love or need leads us to clutter. And clutter is the opposite of where our heart should be: Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” (Hebrews 13:5)

(Note: Not saying that having things is bad. There’s lots of good stuff in the world, but if we buy it and don’t love it or need it, that might be a heart issue.)

Follow me on Instagram (@iamjoymoy) to see pic updates of our progress.

Related Posts:
Clutter Free in 2015
Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3

One thought on “21-Day Clutter Free Challenge {Day 4}

  1. Thanks for the inspiration… I am pretty sure in the 4 giant garbage bags + tons of recycling that there are 201+ items. 🙂 Happy New Year!

Your turn! Share your thoughts with us.

