What We’re Eating: Crockpot Breakfast Casserole

For those who don’t know, I am the Publicity Coordinator for our local MOPS group. I get to put together a monthly newsletter filled with all sorts of stuff for moms. This year I am featuring easy, no-fuss recipes that moms can do. A friend submitted this breakfast casserole. I know I should make use of our crockpot more, but I don’t.

Kids in the Kitchen
I was going to try to make this recipe quickly while the girls got ready for bed, but they caught me and wanted to help out too. I can’t resist teaching life skills, so they came and lent a hand.

Whenever I start cooking, I have the girls get the ingredients and tools we need that they can reach (and won’t break).

Super glad I measured the cheese because the recipe called for 3 cups. The package said 2 cups. I was going to dump one and a half package in, but the first package looked like a lot already. Upon measuring, I found that said package with 2 cups was actually 3 cups. Go figure. 1 dozen eggs + 1 cup milk + 2 lbs of hash brown potatoes + 1 lb of ham (diced) + 1/2 cup onions (diced) + 3 cups shredded cheddar cheese + 1/4 teaspoon dry mustard + 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder + 1 tsp salt & 1/2 tsp of pepper

And then, I put them to work. A dozen egg, well-beaten, and 1 cup of milk

Plus some salt, pepper, dry mustard, and garlic powder…whisk

Lightly grease crockpot and layer 1/3 of frozen hash brown, season with salt and pepper

1/3 of the diced ham

1/3 of the shredded cheddar cheese

1/3 of the onions, and then 2 more layers, pour egg mixture over everything. Cook on low for 7-8 hours for thawed hash browns and 8-9 hours for frozen hash browns.

Ta-da! It smelled like breakfast casserole in the morning. 🙂

Changes
Instead of bacon, I used ham.

Suggestions
You can try different ingredients for the breakfast meat. You can use bacon, sausage, ham, or sub in different veggies, like peppers or mushrooms.

Verdict
It was a hit. Well, I don’t know if it was hit, but when I returned to the brunch spread, the crockpot was empty, so at least everyone gave it a try. 🙂

– Joyce

Click on the link to view more of WHAT WE’RE EATING

Pinspiration
CROCKPOT BREAKFAST CASSEROLE recipe from Family Fresh Meals
Originally pinned HERE

Total time: It took me about 45 minutes with the kids helping out.
Serves: 8

Ingredients:

  • 1 dozen eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 lbs hash brown potatoes (frozen hash browns, cook 8-9 hours, instead of the 7-8)
  • 1 lb bacon, cooked, drained and cut into pieces. (feel free to substitute with your favorite breakfast meat..sausage, ham, etc)
  • 1/2 cup onions, diced
  • 3 cups cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1/4 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 tsp salt & 1/2 tsp of pepper (add pinch of s&p for each layer of hash browns)
Directions: 
  1. Beat 12 eggs until well blended.
  2. Beat in milk and garlic powder, mustard, salt and pepper. Set aside.
  3. Layer potatoes, add a small pinch of salt and pepper.
  4. Sprinkle 1/3 of the onions.
  5. Sprinkle 1/3 of breakfast meat, or substitute.
  6. Top with 1 cup of cheese.
  7. Repeating this layering 2 more times to have a total of 3 layers, ending with cheese.
  8. Take your egg mixture, and pour over layers. For refrigerated hash browns, cook for 6-7 hours on low. For frozen hash browns, cook for 7-8 hours on low or until eggs are set.

*Bold instructions can be done by younger kids.

pinterest-to-real-life-2014-buttonSince I’m all about putting my goals to action this year, my friend Nicole’s monthly link-up, Pinterest to Real Life, is a perfect way to keep accountable to that! I have pinned lots of stuff with every good intention of baking/cooking/crafting/etc. It usually doesn’t happen because life happens. I would love to move toward “getting it together” this year, sooo…here we go…. If you want to join in, it’s easy. Choose something you’ve pinned, do it, share about it. That’s it!

Your turn! Share your thoughts with us.

