What We’re Eating: Make-Ahead French Toast Casserole

Image Source: I Can Teach My Child

I’ve been looking for some simple recipes for dishes to make for MOPS brunch. Usually I sign up to bring fruit, since it’s easy and we love fruit. 🙂 But I wanted to try some new things this year. This French Toast Casserole recipe came into my inbox, and it looked simple enough.

CHANGES
None.

SUGGESTIONS
None.

VERDICT
I personally don’t know how this tasted because I brought it to MOPS, and I got called to work in the 2’s room. When I came back at the end of the meeting, it was all gone. I got a small piece that got stuck to the side. It tasted pretty good, but at that point, it had been the previous night’s dinner since I last eaten, so anything would have tasted pretty good. Looks like everyone at MOPS gobbled it up though. I will have to make it again.

– Joyce

Click on the link to view more of WHAT WE’RE EATING

FRENCH TOAST CASSEROLE recipe from I Can Teach My Child:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of butter
  • 12 slices of white bread
  • 3/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups of milk
  • Powdered sugar for dusting

Instructions:

  1. Melt 1/2 cup of butter and pour it in the bottom of the 9×13 casserole dish.
  2. Lay 6 pieces of white bread on top of the melted butter.
  3. Mix 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon.
  4. Pour half of the brown sugar mixture on top of the first layer of bread.
  5. Add the second layer of six pieces of bread over the top of the brown sugar mixture.
  6. In a separate bowl, mix 5 beaten eggs, 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract, and 1 1/2 cups of milk.
  7. Pour the egg mixture over the casserole.
  8. Top with the remaining brown sugar mixture.
  9. Cover and refrigerate overnight.
  10. The next morning, cover the casserole dish with aluminum foil and then bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Uncover and bake for another 15 minutes. dust with powdered sugar.

*Bold instructions can be done by younger kids.

4 thoughts on “What We’re Eating: Make-Ahead French Toast Casserole

  1. Pingback: Our Week in Photos (Week 37 of 52) | Keeping up with the Moys

  2. Pingback: Italian Casseroles And Braises « jovinacooksitalian

  3. Pingback: Blog Year in Review – 2012 | Keeping up with the Moys

Your turn! Share your thoughts with us.

