Romans 8: Hidden In My Heart

What a journey it has been!

I still have a little work to really get the verses down, but I did it! I memorized all 39 verses of Romans 8. Who would have thought? Lisa posted a few ideas for topics to blog about for how this past month went, and I think I’m just going to do a summary for each. =)

  1. A favorite verse from Romans 8 – I have to pick just one? Hmm…that is tricky. I like a lot of the verses in this chapter. I’ll go with verse 32 today I guess. He who did not spare his own Son but gave him up for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things?
  2. An unexpected blessing from memorizing Romans 8 – I feel like my memory is just slightly sharper than it was before I started putting it to work in this capacity.
  3. The hardest part about memorizing – Finding time to review when things got busy. Some of the verses had a lot of the same wording or phrases, and that was a little confusing.
  4. This is how far I got and why – I finished memorizing it with first letter method. I could do better with doing it straight from memory and without prompting.
  5. Tools that help me memorizeScriptureTyper | Remember Me app | First letter method | YouVersion (just listening to the audio) | flashcards
  6. What I’m learning from Romans 8 – The abundant life that we have in the Lord even during life’s challenges. His great sacrificial love for us despite our sins and failures. (Some thoughts from Crossway on Romans 8)

Romans 8 Challenge – COMPLETED!

  • Start date: Sunday, November 6th
  • Finish date: Saturday, March 31st
  • Pace of 2-3 verses a week, with a 2-week “life happens” buffer.

John 1:1-14 Challenge

  • Start date: Easter Sunday, April 8, 2012
  • Finish date: Pentecost Sunday, May 27, 2012
  • Suggested pace: 2 verses a week

– Joyce

Romans 8: Am I Totally Crazy? | Life in the Spirit | Heirs with Christ | More Than Conquerors
Psalm 143: Mid-Month Update | I Did It! | Future Glory

Head over to Alicia’s Homemaking to see more Try New Adventures Thursday!

22 thoughts on “Romans 8: Hidden In My Heart

    • That’s what I thougt too! But I can’t believe I did it. I’ve even read that people memorize whole books of the Bible! Memorizing a whole chapter was easier for me than memorizing ‘unrelated’ (unconnected??) chunks of Scripture.

  1. “I’ll go with verse 32 today I guess.”

    Yes! It is tricky to just pick one. 🙂 My favorite verse changes often. So many good ones to choose from.

    I love what you’re learning, Joyce; me, too. We do have the abundant life in Christ, even when we don’t “feel” it.

    A great wrap-up post. Thanks for sharing this with us!

  2. Joyce, I loved reading your thoughts on Romans 8. Verse 32 keeps coming to my mind too throughout my days. I often think that God graciously gave up His Son for me, so of course I can give _____ or do ______ for my friend, family, neighbor, stranger, etc. My small sacrifice is nothing compared to His! It sure helps keep my selfishness in check!

  3. Pingback: Our Week in Photos (Week 14 of 52) | Keeping up with the Moys

  4. Pingback: Hide His Word: Reviewing | Keeping up with the Moys

  5. Pingback: Hide His Word: 1 Corinthians 13:1-7 | Keeping up with the Moys

  6. Pingback: Hide His Word: 1 Peter | Keeping up with the Moys

  7. Pingback: Hide His Word: Born Again to a Living Hope | Keeping up with the Moys

  8. Pingback: New Thought Ministries » The Believers’ Challenge And Assurance In Living The Paschal Mystery

  9. Pingback: Hide His Word: Born Again to a Living Hope (Part 2) | Keeping up with the Moys

  10. Pingback: Blog Year in Review – 2012 | Keeping up with the Moys

  11. Pingback: Hide His Word: Psalm 71 | Keeping up with the Moys

  12. Pingback: Hide His Word: Memory Classics | Keeping up with the Moys

Your turn! Share your thoughts with us.

