What We’re Eating: Trader Joe’s Cornbread Mix

Image Source: Kath Eats

We like trying out new things we find at Trader Joe’s. Here’s a recent find.

CHANGES
No changes.

SUGGESTIONS
I was looking for the photo for this post, and came upon Kath Eats, who blogged about having this cornbread mix. She did do a few things differently, and I might try out what she did next time, which is use 1/4 cup oil and 1 cup of milk instead of 1/2 cup oil and 3/4 cup of milk. And I forgot to drizzle the honey.

VERDICT
We like it. It’s light and fluffy. The other times, I’ve had cornbread, I did not like it too much because the corn always ends up kinda of hard, but if you bake it to the 35 minutes that you’re instructed to, it turns out great.

– Joyce

Click on the link to view more of WHAT WE’RE EATING.

TRADER JOE’S CORNBREAD MIX recipe from the box

Prep Time: No more than 10 minutes

  • Cook Time: 35-40 minutes
  • Total Time: 50 minutes
  • Makes: Makes 8×8 dish

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 box of cornbread mix

Instructions:

  1. Mix together egg, oil, and milk in a large bowl.
  2. Add cornbread mix. Don’t overmix.
  3. Pour mixture into a greased 8×8 dish.
  4. Bake uncover at 350*F for 35-40 minutes.

Head over to Alicia’s Homemaking to see more Try New Adventures Thursday! Any Trader Joe product suggestions?

8 thoughts on “What We’re Eating: Trader Joe’s Cornbread Mix

  1. Ha! I mentioned Trader Joe’s in my post today as well. =) I’ve never tried their cornbread mix, but perhaps I will soon. I like to add pumpkin when I make cornbread.

  2. Pingback: Our Week in Photos (Week 3 of 52) | Keeping up with the Moys

  3. Thanks for this review I’ve been wondering about this mix. I tried the cranberry bread mix last week and it was delish.

    I mentioned Trader Joe’s too, crazy!

    Alicia, I wish you did too.

  4. Pingback: Father’s Day 2012 | Keeping up with the Moys

  5. Pingback: Blog Year in Review – 2012 | Keeping up with the Moys

Your turn! Share your thoughts with us.

