Psalm 143 I Did It!

Beginning of the Month Update | Mid-Month Update

I’m happy to report that I did it! I memorized Psalm 143 this month! It took me all month (26 days since I started on the 5th), but I did it!

I was stuck on verse 10 for awhile, and I finally got verse 12 last night, 3 hours before the last day of the month ended.

Well, I started memorizing Psalm 143 just for the sake of memorizing it. I hadn’t done anything like this in a long, long time. The last long passage I memorized was from Philippians and it was when I was a Sunday School teacher. When I challenge my Sunday School students to do something, I always take up the challenge myself.

BUT…I’m glad I had these verses in my mind and in my heart. I found myself awake one night this week, not able to fall back to sleep. My mind was racing on a million things.

Verse 8 came to my mind:

Let me hear in the morning of your steadfast love,
for in you I trust.
Make me know the way I should go,
for to you I lift up my soul.

It was a comfort to me. I don’t know what I’m supposed to do. I have no control of the things that go on around me. People I know are hurting. And man, sometimes kids just don’t listen to you, and they make messes too. But what I do know is that the Lord has a plan for me. Sometimes He has to shout for me to hear Him, but sometimes He speaks in a small still voice. I just have to listen. So, I listened, and I continue to listen. He will let me know the way I should go.

So….after I finished reciting the 12 verses to Norm, Melody wanted a turn. She can go up to verse 6 by herself, and with prompting of the first word in the verse, she has it memorized to verse 8.

UPDATE: Click on THIS LINK to see Melody (4.5 years old) recite verses 1-4 (that’s all she wanted to do for the camera). She memorized it in only 2 weeks.

Thank you, Katie for hosting the memory challenge!

– Joyce

Head over to Alicia’s Homemaking to see more Try New Adventures Thursday!

18 thoughts on “Psalm 143 I Did It!

  1. Pingback: Our Week in Photos (Week 35 of 52) | Keeping up with the Moys

  2. Pingback: Romans 8: Am I Totally Crazy? | Keeping up with the Moys

  3. Pingback: Romans 8: Life In The Spirit | Keeping up with the Moys

  4. Pingback: Romans 8: Heirs with Christ | Keeping up with the Moys

  5. Pingback: Romans 8: Future Glory | Keeping up with the Moys

  6. Pingback: Romans 8: More Than Conquerors | Keeping up with the Moys

  7. Pingback: Romans 8: Hidden In My Heart | Keeping up with the Moys

  8. Pingback: Hide His Word: Reviewing | Keeping up with the Moys

  9. Pingback: Hide His Word: 1 Corinthians 13:1-7 | Keeping up with the Moys

  10. Pingback: Hide His Word: 1 Peter | Keeping up with the Moys

  11. Pingback: Hide His Word: Born Again to a Living Hope | Keeping up with the Moys

  12. Pingback: Hide His Word: Born Again to a Living Hope (Part 2) | Keeping up with the Moys

  13. Pingback: Hide His Word: Psalm 71 | Keeping up with the Moys

  14. Pingback: Hide His Word: Memory Classics | Keeping up with the Moys

Your turn! Share your thoughts with us.

