Stories from Pottyville Part 6

Count | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5

I haven’t done a post on Emily’s pottying lately and I’m feeling like you all need a TMI post.

Well, not much has changed from the last Stories from Pottyville post….until LAST WEEK!

I started putting Emily in underwear when we were home. Yes, we are in the process of moving her room, etc, but I feel like she is beyond ready, and we were just lazy to have to wipe up pee from the floor those first days that she will be in underwear. Plus, I was waiting for a “perfect time” when we would be home all day for a few days, but that doesn’t never happen, so I just went for it.

I have lost track of how many times and how many days she has wet her underwear or told us she needed to go, but so far so good.

It has been one week and 2 days(?). The mornings are generally super easy and she will remember to go. By afternoon, she needs a little reminder. Yesterday she only was in one pair of underwear all day long. I had her in a diaper for her naptime. I haven’t had to clean the floor the past 5(?) days. She does get a little pee on the underwear at times, and then remembers that she needs to head for the bathroom, but otherwise, it looks like we’re going in the right direction.

Nighttime is another story. We haven’t limited her water intake for the evening because she has a cough (someone please tell me how to get rid of this cough!!), so her diaper is pretty soaked until whatever time she wakes up to go to the bathroom. Then, after that, it seems she only pees in the diaper once or twice until she wakes up.

With both girls, I have not found that using the Pull-Ups makes a difference in their pottying habits. They don’t care for keeping the designs there or that there is a “cool alert” when they pee. It is too similar to a diaper. The only pro is that they are easier to pull up and down when we need to have them wear them when we go out during those first days/weeks of “training”, and during sleep times.

Oh, and Emily does not really like going in the little potty anymore. She likes to sit on the big toilet with the potty trainer on top.

I do have a funny story to tell about when we were out in San Francisco and Emily had to use the bathroom…but I’ll keep you waiting a little for that one.

– Joyce

3 thoughts on “Stories from Pottyville Part 6

  1. Ohhhh thats awesome!! I’m beginning the slow trek to potty training with Jacob and I’m wondering how it will go. I love your post because it gives me some ideas…I’ve always wondered if pull ups actually helped much. Seems to me they are just like diapers, like you said. Hurray for potty training!!

  2. Pingback: Our Week in Photos (Week 26 of 52) « Keeping up with the Moys

  3. Pingback: Stories from Pottyville Part 7 | Keeping up with the Moys

Your turn! Share your thoughts with us.

