What We’re Eating: Carrot Fries

Image Source: Martha Stewart


Let me preface this by saying that I am not a big fan of carrots. I have tried them so many different ways before and there was nothing that ever made carrots super delicious. The closest I get to really liking carrots are when they are in beef stew or chicken noodle soup. But we got a ton of carrots from my parents (my mom’s work union) so I had to do something with them. I saw a recipe for carrot fries somewhere and it sounded doable. I can’t remember the original source so I found this recipe for OVEN BAKED CARROT FRIES.

CHANGES
I didn’t have fresh rosemary on hand, so I just used dried. I think it’s time to plant an herb garden.

SUGGESTIONS
I wasn’t sure how much 1.5 pounds of carrots was, but a quick search told me 1 pound of carrots is about 8-9 large carrots, so it would be 12-13 large carrots? Follow the instructions exactly. I cut the carrots too small, because I forgot that when you bake them they shrink a lot.

We just had ketchup for whoever wanted any, but I think I will try a dip of some sort next time.

VERDICT
I can definitely eat carrots this way! Emily was hungry but dinner wasn’t ready and I gave her a carrot fry. She rejected it, but I told her to just try it first. She ate it, and said, “More.” Melody ate some, but she has never really had a taste for carrots. Norm liked it.

– Joyce

Click on the link to view more of WHAT WE’RE EATING.

OVEN BAKED CARROT FRIES

  • Prep Time: Amount of time it takes to slice up carrots
  • Cook Time: 20 min
  • Makes: 4 Servings

Ingredients:

  • 12 carrots
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons fresh rosemary, finely chopped
  • 1 pinch pepper

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Line a 13×9 shallow pan with foil.
  3. Slice away the tip and end of each carrot, and peel each completely.
  4. Cut carrots in half crosswise, then cut lengthwise, then cut lengthwise again.
  5. In a mixing bowl, combine the carrot sticks, olive oil, rosemary, sugar, salt and pepper.
  6. Stir until all are evenly coated.
  7. Place carrots in pan, spreading sticks out as much as possible.
  8. Bake for 20 minutes or until carrots are tender.
4 thoughts on “What We’re Eating: Carrot Fries

  1. This looks so yummy! Thanks for coming by my blog again. It has been snowing north of Seattle but none in the city. It’s way to cold for April though and I’m longing for Austin and warm spring days. At least the sun has been out for a few days, crazy how much the can change EVERYONE’S mood.

  2. Pingback: Our Week in Photos (Week 16 of 52) « Keeping up with the Moys

  3. Pingback: Roasted Carrots w/ Traditional Balsamic Vinegar | gourmetblends

  4. This looks yummy. It reminds me of sweet potatoes fries. And I don’t care much for sweet potatoes (except smothered in pecans and brown sugar where you can taste the sweet potatoes) and as fries. So I may have to give the carrot fries a try!

Your turn! Share your thoughts with us.

