Pros and Cons of Shorter Hair

Again, these are my opinions and my experiences with short hair. My hair is usually longer than shoulder length, so I’ve only had short hair a few times in my life…after I donated. My pros and cons plus commentaries of other people’s pros/cons are italicized.

Click here for Pros and Cons of Long Hair
Click here to read my HAIRy story about donating my hair

Me and my goofy girl (who jumped into my shot)...the first days/weeks are a little odd to me. I think because the ends of the hairs are not really the ends? But this is the latest (and only) pic I have of after the cut.

 

Pros

  • Light and airy
  • Easy to wash = LESS TIME
  • Use less shampoo = LESS SPENDING
  • Dries faster = LESS ELECTRICITY USED (although I air dry when I can whether with long or short hair)
  • No more strands of hair hiding in my clothes (esp inside the back of my shirt!)

A pro that didn’t make my top 5 but still up there is: Hair won’t get caught in coat zipper
-its cute, chic, hot depending on how you style it.
-it doesn’t get in your face that often, plus when its windy it doesn’t blow all over the place like long hair does. (I beg to differ as there were some mighty gusty winds and I could not see to put Emily into her carseat after storytime.)
-Easier to brush and manage.
-Healthy because hair needs to be cut every once in a while (not necessarily)
-easier to style, variety of cuts, more dramatic, it’ll be a new look, less split ends, shinier hair, hair at the roots are always more moisturized than at the tip, so you’ll have healthy hair, no more snags and tangles, and you can always clip it with cute clips. (Emily has short hair and it has tons of tangles all the time, depends on your hair’s texture.)
-in summer, it’s nice to have short hair that doesn’t stick to your neck all the time (Depends on how short. A longer bob(?) would definitely stick to your neck.)
-helping other by donating hair to organization like Locks of Love (Yes!)

Cons

  • Can get in your way, esp if you can’t put it up all the way
  • Messy in the morning
  • Can’t hide hairs that are sticking up in odd places
  • Thicker short hair = poofball
  • More maintenance (in my opinion, once I go short, out comes the straighter/flat iron)

-you can’t really style it like you would with long hair. since its so short, you can’t really like tie it up and also its hard to curl because there isn’t that much of it.
-if you don’t like it or it doesn’t frame your face well, then you have to wait like a year for it to grow back long enough.
-less styling options, once you go short you can’t go long (I notice that once I went short the first time, my hair got super thick.)
-can’t be put in a ponytail, and if it can, the hair always comes loose (This bothers me a lot, esp when working out, or having to bend down to pick things or children up.)
-Cold for winter (although a cute hat could fix that =]) (Who wants to buy me a hat?)
-Sometimes shorter pieces tend to want to do their own thing and be a pain in the you know what. (I feel like it’s not fixable at times.)
-lose the sexy feeling of long hair

Here are the sites I found some of the pros/cons:
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20071205154708AAHpYMP
http://answerology.seventeen.com/index.aspx/question/866473_Pros-and-Cons-of-Short-hair.html

– Joyce

What do you think about short hair? What are some pros and cons?

6 thoughts on “Pros and Cons of Shorter Hair

  1. Pingback: Our Week in Photos (Week 14 of 52) « Keeping up with the Moys

  2. I think it looks great on you, but I know what you mean about it being good and bad. My hairdresser just took it upon herself to chop my hair off, and at first I hated it, but now I like the fact that I have to style it more. My husband appreciates it, too 🙂

  3. oh man, I will trade you hair in a heartbeat! You have that beautiful silky totally straight jet black hair. I have absurdly thick, coarse, unruly, can’t make up it’s mind, several grays, blah brown hair. I basically have to style no matter what (even pony tails look weird without having styled) so it is easier for me to style quicker with short hair. Though there IS one way I used to do my hair that I kind of miss and it took pretty much no blow drying or anything to pull it off. But come on, that’s ONE style. haha. I think in general I just look better with short hair. But I change my mind all the time so come winter I may be longing for longer locks that I can’t really do anything with anyway 😉

  4. Pingback: Bedhead | Keeping up with the Moys

  5. Pingback: Our Week in Photos (Week 27 of 52) | Keeping up with the Moys

Your turn! Share your thoughts with us.

