Less Cluttered Home: Week 1

You know I love a good challenge. It helps me keep motivated and accountable. There was a cleaning challenge that I wanted to do, but couldn’t get started before it ended! Then I saw Stephanie’s 8  Weeks to a Less Cluttered Home. 40 days. That’s it. Go through the house little by little, area by area (which is awesome when you have little kids). It definitely helped me to stay focused this first week.

Here is the goal of the challenge: To spend 30 minutes or less each day working on a specific area of the home and to find 10 items to get rid of each day.

We actually don’t own too much due to the fact that I hate shopping (oh, you didn’t know? :p hehe). Most of the stuff we have in our home are either hand-me-downs or gifts…or the girl’s crafts/knick knacks from carnivals and parties and such. I’m not to the point that I want to get rid of it all, so I’m aiming at a goal of 5 items out of the house each day instead.

Day 1: Kitchen drawers – Cutlery and cooking utensils.
We have another “real” set of silverware, and we do use it on a regular basis too.

Before: I think we got 3 sets of cooking utensils for our wedding. That big container was sitting next to the stove, but I rarely used any of the stuff. After: I had found an old Pom container and used that instead. What I use weekly –> Pasta spoon thingie, soup ladle, and 3 for $1 Ikea set from my parents. (I didn’t completely get rid of the whole container. Some items are leaving our house though.)

Day 2: Kitchen cupboards – w/ eating dishes (plates, glasses, china, wine glasses, etc.) and storage containers (like Tupperware or Pyrex containers).
Before and After. I’m working on use other methods to store our food, so hopefully by the end of the year, we don’t need most of this. At Thanksgiving, 75% of the containers are used to store leftover goodies for guests, but then, it starts over again.

My 5yo saying, “Who needs all these plastic storage containers?”

Day 3: Kitchen cupboards – w/ cooking items (pots, pans, casserole dishes, baking trays or pans) & small appliances (blenders, food processors, toaster ovens, etc.).
I forgot to take a few Before pics. If it looks like there’s even more stuff in the cupboards now, it’s because there is. I took all the pots and pans out of the oven. Now I don’t have to remove everything when I want to bake something! :) Got rid of a pot and other various things, and it is more organized.

Day 4: Kitchen drawers – Any junk or miscellaneous drawers.
I had swapped days because I knew I would need extra time to work on this one, but it actually went by pretty quickly. Again, the drawers don’t look that much different because we don’t own that much stuff (or maybe we do…it’s all relative, right?) and we actually do use most of what we have on a regular basis. This is our tea/drinks and baking/cookie cutters drawer.

Yup, those are Kirkland tissue boxes. :p We try to use shopping totes as much as we can but we do forget them sometimes.

Where we put all the kids’ sugary stuff from holidays and parties…the marshmallows are for Rice Krispy Treats. ;)

Snack overflow

Snack drawer – It usually looks better than this. I guess we just had a random assortment these days.

Did you know we like corn? This is our backup veggie on weeks when we go frugal and don’t buy groceries and eat from the pantry (and we don’t have an actual “pantry” thus the cans in the drawers (worked out better than having them in our cupboards for some reason)).

Trying to eliminate plastics/foil from our life, but sometimes it still comes in handy.

Pastas and canned fruits (I’m not a big fan but everyone else seems to enjoy the syrupy goodness.)

Other random cans…

I haven’t gotten the motivation to tackle this drawer yet. It has random items from the top of our kitchen island that we clear off when we need to put stuff on top of the island.

This drawer holds coasters and our table talkers.

Haven’t found another home for this, so it stay here.

This is our Ramen noodles stash (that needs to be replenish). I know, it’s not good for you. It’s one of our few guilty pleasures.

I don’t even know what to say about this one. :p I don’t grab any extras when we go out to eat, but somehow, these always end up in our home. It was overflowing. Again, organized with Kirkland tissue boxes. :p It was a good sorting lesson for the girls: chopsticks, forks, spoons, straws.

Day 5: Kitchen linens – Dish towels, cloths, rags, oven mitts, napkins, tablecloths, placemats.
Not much difference here, but I got rid of a few extra plates and a kitchen towel, and straightened things up a bit. We don’t own any tablecloths or placemats, so we’re good in that department.

Overall, it doesn’t seem like much, but we are decluttering a little, so it’s a start!!! And if it still seems messy, it’s because it is. I’m focusing more on the decluttering first, and will get to cleaning later. :)

19 thoughts on “Less Cluttered Home: Week 1

  1. Ok wow! Joyce, that looks amazing! I’m really impressed and so motivated now to go through our closets and our junk draw. oh the junk drawer. Maybe we’ll clean that out together when you come over for a play date with the girls. hehe! I’m kidding. :)

    • Jodi, The kitchen was pretty easy. Closets are the worst!! I’m taking the 2-step approach with decluttering first…or maybe the 3-step, declutter, then clean, and finally organize. :p I love cleaning (I know, I’m a crazy woman!), but it’s tricky when I’m interrupted a million times while I’m trying to clean just one thing! I’d love to help you clean. No, really! It’s what I do….straighten shelves at the store.

  2. I’ve been cleaning a bit too! If you have knick knacks (still new condition) you don’t want that can go to my Rainbow Store at school that will be great. We need more toys. I stole your idea on the plastic bags in tissue boxes. hehe=)

  3. Wow! Great job! I really wish I’d been more diligent in taking before and after pictures for the first week. I’ll have to make sure I’m better about that for this week. Way to set the bar!! :)

    • Thanks for stopping by. I can’t tell if there’s more difference in real life or in the photos. I didn’t get rid of piles of stuff, but a little is better than having stuff that I don’t use taking up space.

  4. Hello! Just finding your blog. Love your theme and your sweet girls. I’m following b/c I love to find other believers in the blogosphere! De-clutter, organizing is work, but liberating! I’m trying to get away from plastic too. It’s hard!

  5. What a neat challenge! I’ve recently gone through a few drawers/baskets in our kitchen and was amazed at how much I got rid of. I would love to keep going now that I’ve started but school is calling! I’ll look forward to watching your progress on this project.

    • Jenni, You should try the challenge. There are a few days that take longer, but otherwise, if you are just concentrating on the decluttering instead of trying to clean and organize everything as well, it’s a little easier. Most of these tasks took about 20 minutes or so. Getting rid of anything is progress. :)

  6. Pingback: Blog Year in Review – 2012 | Keeping up with the Moys

Your turn! Share your thoughts with us.

